it is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. punishment is necessary to help them to learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? what sort of punishments?

discipline of the children is one of the most important responsibilities of the parents. So, in this regard, It has been suggested that punishment is crucial to teach children what is the difference between right and wrong. In this essay, I will address why I strongly agree with this thought, and I will mention the characteristics of the punishment that could be used in parenting. To my mind, punishment plays a key role in the journey of disciplining our children and modifying their behaviours. The presence of strict ground rules that children will be penalized if they break them will act as a deterrent and reduce the likelihood of repeating the bad behaviour in the future. I think this technique in parenting is consistent with our human nature; the absence of penalties will encourage misbehaving. In order for the punishment to be effective, it should be age-appropriate, which means the child should be old enough and mentally mature to understand why he or she is being punished. Also, no physical or emotional harm should be exerted during punishment. Smacking and yelling for example are not recommended by many pedagogical experts, because such kinds of punishment have serious impacts on the child’s personality in the future, such as low self-confidence, and a high tendency to violence. In conclusion, in my personal opinion, punishing children is one of the most successful ways of upbringing them and reshaping their behaviours, provided that, the punishment is suitable to their age and has no physical or psychological effects.