These days in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

The number of people who are willing to choose teaching as their future career is decreasing rapidly every year. There are several reasons why society prefers other professions. In this essay, I will go through the reasons why this happens and provide possible solutions on how to improve this situation. The first disadvantage of being a teacher in middle school is low pay. Clearly, youngsters are not motivated enough to become teachers without a proper paycheck, because now many other jobs can offer more prestigious salaries. To improve this situation, the government must raise wages and provide a bonus structure. Raised salary and performance-based bonuses can be very effective in motivating employees. This will help motivate people to choose this profession over others. Another reason is the variety of professions which provide many more opportunities to choose from. The best solution to solve this question is providing more useful benefits from the government. For instance, healthcare, gym memberships and team building. Such benefits will show that employees are valued. Seldom do companies provide personnel with such opportunities. This will encourage society to opt for teaching. Lastly, due to the complexity of working with adolescents, the public prefers avoiding this job. Teenagers go through a rough patch, they have hormones that affect their moods and emotions. This behaviour also affects the studying process for teachers as well. As a consequence, this makes the profession of teacher less desirable. To solve this problem, school authorities should offer long-term mental help support for teachers. For instance, they can create teacher’s groups, so they can support each other. On the whole, there are lots of issues which are more favoured than teaching. Nevertheless, this occupation can attract more people if a few points are improved. The first reason for low income can be improved by increasing salaries for the employees. The other dilemma with the lack of options working as a teacher can be solved by simply providing cadres with benefits, for example, gym membership, team building, and health insurance. The last complication with difficult communication with teenagers can be resolved by creating teachers’ communities. This will help them support each other through rough moments. In conclusion, teaching has lots of advantages and disadvantages, improving a couple of moments will engage more educators and make this profession more captivating.