With the rise of e-book come the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages for this trend?

Nowadays, many people prefer using electronic books, which is decreasing the proportion of paper books used. Overall, there are pros and cons of both situations. In my opinion, I believe there are many benefits of this phenomenon since it is much easier and lower cost than classical books. Nevertheless, there is potential for limited accessibility and prolonged screentime can lead to eye problems. The major reasons that are driving the trend are accessibility and the affordable price to buy an electronic book, by using the internet. For example, e- books are easily accessible through digital devices such as e-readers, tablets, and smartphones, making it convenient for readers to carry an entire library with them. Moreover, many college students at Western Sydney University, including myself, prefer e- books because of the flexibility and affordability for those who could not afford a large purchase of paper books. In addition, electronic books are often considered more environmentally friendly because they do not require paper, printing, or transportation. Therefore, lumberjacks do not have to cut down the trees which eventually lowers environmental impact. On the other hand, there are reasons why some people still choose printed books. In fact, limited access to technology and health issues could be the answer. In particular, not everyone has access to digital devices or the internet, especially in less developed countries or among certain demographic groups. Furthermore, it impacts health issues due to prolonged screen time, which is common in e- books and can lead to digital eye strain or fatigue. To sum up, the electronic book is the best tool for most people today as it provides many benefits. In my opinion, it contributes to the high level of education, however, prolonged screen time also leads to eye problems. I believe that if students limit their time using devices, it could have less impact.