The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often said that the primary purpose of science should be to improve people ’s lives. This essay will largely agree with that assertion. Science has advanced for many reasons throughout human history but it seems as though much of its relentless drive forwards has been powered by the quest to improve people ’s lives. Take medicine as the best example. Although people complain about greed and profiteering by the pharmaceutical industry, there is no doubt that most medical advances have been made in order to reduce human suffering, improve people ’s quality of life, and even extend lives so that people can live relatively comfortably into old age. From insulin to eyeglasses, medical science has sought to eliminate health problems and improve people ’s lives and this should continue into the future. Beyond that, there are of course many other ways that science has helped people. It is easy to take it for granted, but the development of technology has mostly been for this purpose as well. Some rightly complain about governments spying and businesses profiting, but devices like laptops and tablets have certainly helped people. They allow average people to start businesses and they allow disabled people to do amazing things that they would otherwise have struggled to achieve. Not all technology is beneficial and not all of it is created for such altruistic purposes, but much of it is and its development should be fostered with such lofty aims. For example, scientists should keep this in mind as they push forward with the creation of AI. In conclusion, there are many reasons why science advances but mostly it is for the benefit of human beings and that should remain its aim. People should continue to make developments with the intention of improving people ’s lives.