Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive of negative development?

Urbanization is a crucial factor for a country's development, and this has changed over time. Globally, there has been an influx of citizens moving from the countryside to cities. While there are some advantages to this, the drawbacks far outweigh them. The main reason that ruralists relocate to cities and out-skirted areas is seeking for better job opportunities. As most of company's offices are located in urban areas, there are various jobs available for employees. Furthermore, payment is usually higher than the average of allowance in rural areas. For example, some farmers in Thailand opt to leave agriculture behind and become a blue-collar worker in Bangkok because of well-paid wages. By contrast, majority of metropolitans are experienced with several issues as a result of density of population. First, pollution including air and noise is the main concern. Since the number of cars in the city has been increasing every year, the great amount of carbon dioxide has been emitted into the atmosphere which affects residents' health in the long term. Second, traffic congestion is undoubtedly consequence of increasing private car owners. Town people are faced with long hours of transportation to workplace, especially during peak hours. In conclusion, although moving to the city offers people well-paid jobs, there are also some challenges that arise from overcrowded, such as pollution and traffic jams. In my view, this change is a negative development. The government should allocate a budget to develop facilities and create jobs in rural area parallel to the city.