The media has become too influential in people’s lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by the people that media has become an influence to the people in negative way in their lives. Despite the community's struggling with a sophisticated life pattern, there has been a growing tendency among them to use media as a crucial strategy for shaping life. I strongly agree with the given statement as it has a negative impact on society. This essay will deeply delve into the reasons for my personal idea. On the one hand, media has been the main source of transferring information which is relevant and irrelevant. It has the power to change one's thinking pattern in a keen way. For instance, researchers have found that now people tend to eat unhealthy foods such as soft drinks, short eats and other instant edibles as media promote them regularly in commercials. Moreover, according to the research as a result of the changed food habits, the number of cancers and other non-communicable diseases is also growing up. Therefore anyone can easily identify the bad effects of the media on society. On the other hand, people have become addicted to spending their valuable time in front of a screen. As an example, most of the Sri Lankan women have been practising to spend around 7.00pm to 10.00pm watching foreign teledramas. Because of that reason, they lost valuable time which could have been spent with their family. The most tragic situation is children won't be able to get love and care from parents as they are abandoned with television than children. To sum up, there are more disadvantages of media usage to the society. There is no doubt, that it badly influences one's life and the matter is gradually increasing day by day. Hence it is true,that Istrongly agree with the given statement.