Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions on how to control road accidents. Some are of the opinion that strict punishments is the way while others believe there are better measures to reduce freight calamity. I believe that there are better measures that can help improve roadway safety. On the one hand, some people believe strict punishments such as large fines, play a crucial role in reducing traffic accidents. For instance, individuals who run past red lights will have to suffer a penalty of 400,000 Naira. This has stopped the drivers from committing the same offence. Furthermore, a more severe punishment is five months imprisonment. This will act as the highest punishment for those who have committed a serious offence risking their lives and innocent people’s lives. As a result of this, drivers will become more disciplined and obedient to rules. Despite the above arguments, I believe safe driving can be promoted in different ways other than punishments. Firstly, the government should pay more attention to better road design. For example, stop signs can be placed on the edge of the roads to stop unwanted accidents caused by overspeeding and speed bumps. In addition, it’s important to maintain the surfaces of the roads to keep them safe which includes filling potholes and applying new surface dressing. This is why regular maintenance helps improve the durability of roads and reduces the chances of accident occurring. In conclusion, this essay has expounded on why some people are of the opinion that strict punishment will reduce bad driving, and the reason why I am of the opinion that other measures like better road design and regular road maintenance will do better to improve road safety.