Today, many people use the internet and smartphones to transfer money to friends, family and businesses. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is common these days that the transfer of money to anyone can be done by the help of the internet. As far as I am concerned, this development can be positive in some aspects and negative in others, the reasons of which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, accessing the internet is very easy nowadays and this can highly affect the amount of effort and time anybody should put in order to transfer money. This is because, being able to track your account by your smartphone any time of the day is a real time saver. By way of example, individuals prefer to connect to the internet and manage their bank accounts and savings easily while having breakfast rather than getting stuck in traffic or wait in a long line of customers just to transfer an amount of money each week or even on daily bases. On the other hand, technology and the use of electronic devices can be hard for some people like the older generation which are less used to using gadgets and this update of the money transferring system can contribute to confusion for them. In addition to this, new methods of scams are produced by thieves that can trigger mostly the costumers of certain age which are less likely to notice details when they use the internet. In conclusion, according to what has been discussed in the above paragraphs, there are many positive sides into using the internet as your banking assistant, nonetheless, there are also some negative effects to this trend that can lead people to confusion or in some cases they could be a target of scandals and this means that they may need more protection in their online activities.