Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Marriage is a pivotal milestone in any individual's life. It is believed by some that 21 should be considered the minimum age to enter into matrimony. I strongly disagree with this statement and this essay will argue as to why it should not be so. First of all, at 21 many people have completed fundamental objectives and seek future prospects in order to succeed in life. To elaborate, most people graduate from college, start out on their first job, enter into post-graduate studies etc. As a result, many find it difficult to commit to and understand each other, which requires more personal time and is vital for a successful marriage. As a result, family disputes over simple matters may arise and culminate in permanent separation. Moreover, most individuals are initially stepping into a society where living conditions are demanding and getting tougher with time. In other words, young people should be mature enough to face challenges in life. 21 is the age when the youth are incapable of fully taking up certain responsibilities that are required in order for a marriage to be sustained. For instance, taking care of kids, making correct financial decisions and balancing work and family life are some core tasks necessary for a marriage to sustain and many people are not aware of unfortunately. Due to this, couples may face severe repercussions such as domestic violence, stress and trauma making 21 inappropriate for marriage. To recapitulate, immaturity in both financial and personal aspects and also the lack of understanding of critical responsibilities that come along with marriage question whether 21 should be considered the least age limit for individuals to have weddings.