With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

It is true that nowadays, humanity is really close to facing the issue of overpopulation, which might be avoided, according to some, with the help of GM foods. In this essay I will discuss the positive sides of such changes in food production as well as the drawbacks they bring in our society. The first evident benefit is that people can change an organism’s genetic code without the appearance of any unwanted characteristics. For instance, selective breeding, which is an alternative to genetic modification, may produce mixed results and unwanted traits in the process. The targeted modification of DNA, however, has allowed scientists to avoid this problem. Moreover, the affordability of GM foods is likely to be higher than that of products received via traditional farming. Producing GM products takes far less time, because of specific genetic modifications that allow plants and animals to grow faster. In addition, some genetic changes can make food have a longer shelf life, a better taste and even some important nutrients that humanity does not consume enough. All this is likely to drive the prices down, allowing more people to consume a sufficient amount of food. Turning to the other side of the argument, severe health issues caused by GM food can still happen and be considered as a disadvantage. Genetic engineering typically changes an organism in a way that would not occur naturally; therefore, it may have a negative influence on one's health and can cause serious illnesses such as cancer and severe allergies. Taking everything into consideration, while there are certain advantages to GM products such as no unwanted traits, longer shelf life, better taste and so on, there is still a serious disadvantage connected with health problems. Personally, I believe that it is important to look at both positive and negative sides of GM production to make the right decision.