Many people leave their home country to study abroad nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is common for many people to travel to answer country to continue their studies. This essay will explore some of the benefits and drawbacks of this recent trend. Studying overseas has a number of advantages. Firstly, it may give students access to knowledge and facilities such as laboratories and libraries which are not available in their home country. Furthermore, by looking abroad students may find a wider range of courses than those offered in their country ’s universities, and therefore one which fits more closely to their particular requirements. For example, my brother moved to the United States last year to study for a specialized law degree which was only available in that country. However, studying in another country can present some difficulties. To begin, international study is extremely expensive, In addition to the high tuition costs, the international student has additional expenses, such as accommodation, transport and reading material. Also, being in a foreign country can lead to a sense of isolation and being away from loved ones can be mentally difficult. This can result in a student wishing to return to their home country before they complete their studies. For example, a few of my friends recently returned from the UK as they were not happy living there. As a result, they did not complete their studies despite having paid a large amount in student tuition fees. In conclusion, studying abroad has both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, it gives opportunities for people to advance their skills and perhaps their future careers. However, it can be expensive and emotionally draining. In my view, I believe studying abroad is worthwhile and that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.