Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, damage to the environment through plastic bags, plastic bottles, and plastic boxes is a vital issue that should be discussed. The origin of this situation seems to stem from two factors, while several remedies appear to be open to us, which we will discuss here. Possibly the main damage is the consumption of plastic products causes soil erosion. It should be mentioned that consuming excessive plastic products will cause plastic waste and it almost takes 500 years to be recycled in nature and this causes serious damage to the environment including soil. A further well-known harm is the destruction of plants. Plastic bags or plastic bottles would prevent nutrients from reaching plants and would cause their extinction. For example, when we throw plastic bags on the ground, the wind may take them near the plants and not allow the water and fertilizer to reach plants, as a result, the plants are destroyed. Turning to possible solutions, most people are unaware of the harmful effects of plastic waste on the environment, thus if governments consider educational programs to inform people, we can hope that the damage to the environment will decrease. Moreover, governments can force factories not to use plastic packaging for their products. The second solution can be that people do not use plastic bags, plastic boxes, and plastic products or consume them less. For instance, they can use fabric commodities instead of plastics. To conclude, plastic products and consequently plastic waste are a serious threat to the ecosystem. The Extinction of plants and devastating effects on soil are a result of using plastic goods. Also, educating people, limiting factories to produce plastic and paying attention to people using less plastic will reduce damage to nature.