It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, both scientists and travelers can pay a visit to distant isolated destinations, such as the South Pole. Although this trend has several benefits, I believe it is still a negative development overall. On the one hand, both scientific and touristic expeditions can help people widen their knowledge. When scientists reach distant natural environments, they can collect specimens, observe and record natural phenomena in these regions. This offers scientists opportunities to discover new knowledge, or even make scientific breakthroughs and assist them to gain considerable achievements in their careers. Besides, tourists who visit remote destinations might learn about the damages of climate change and other serious consequences that ecosystems are facing, thus raising awareness of natural environment protection through positive actions. On the other hand, I believe the disadvantages of traveling to faraway areas must be highlighted. To begin with, the presence of tourists can lead to severe environmental pollution in remote natural regions. For example, they litter into the river instead of throwing trash in the bin, which can cause water contamination and threaten the lives of aquatic creatures. In addition, many visitors prefer to use vehicles rather than take a walk to save their strength when traveling to distant natural places, so it can reduce available fresh air there with a major source of carbon dioxide emissions. Furthermore, if many people have demands to travel to isolated natural areas, large corporations will exploit resources in such regions to construct tourism infrastructure such as hotels, resorts and recreational facilities for tourists to serve their needs. Consequently, these activities may destroy the habitat of native species, put pressure on indigenous people’s life and weaken the identity of local culture. In conclusion, despite certain merits of scientific research and tourism in secluded areas, I am of the opinion that this trend is more detrimental because it poses more pressing existential threats to remote natural environments.