Traffic congestions is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What solutions can you suggest to help solve the problems?

Nowadays, traffic jam has become a more serious issue in big cities. This can lead to more problems if we don't handle it immediately. Hence, I offer a few strategies to help the government tackle this problem which will be discussed in the following paragraph. To begin with, the government should revitalize current public transportation. They should vary and extend the route so it becomes more accessible to everyone. For example, they can find the most favourite destination but haven't had a terminal yet. By doing this, the usage of public transportation increase and then simultaneously decrease the use of private car. Next, the city regulator can restrict a particular day for using a car for only a passenger. This can be done by stating Thursday for instance as a car-free day. This action forces citizens to use public transportation eventually. The government should research which day is best for doing this plan. Moreover, local officials can run a campaign to promote utilizing bicycles for daily purposes. They can give a program such as free rent bicycles for workers. This idea has been proven work in the Netherlands where bicycles become a regular vehicle. If this runs successfully then the roads in the city will become more spacious and obviously reduce congestion. In conclusion, there are three big actions which can be taken by the government: improve public transportation, a rule to limit private vehicles, and a campaign to spread the trend of bicyling to office. I believe these actions decrease the traffic jams.