There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Till now, most of the academic curriculums of the world have been trying to keep a healthy balance between academic subjects and non-academic subjects. However, in recent times we have seen an astounding focus on producing specialists on specific topics from educational institutes and it is making this historical balance questionable. However, I believe that too much focus on academic courses may benefit our careers at the cost of losing many social and practical skills. There should not be any doubt that to have a prosperous professional journey we need to achieve expertise in many academic subjects like maths, accounting or science. The more expert we become in those in our schools or colleges, the more that is beneficial for us. When we put all our concentration on this type of expertise, sometimes we may feel that other things like cookery or physical education are not adding any value to our progress. Rather we may find those as distracting. However, if we completely ignore such topics, we actually put ourselves at risk of losing touch with important survival capabilities. Those programs which offer some guidelines for activities like cooking, and exercise actually keep us fit for the non-career challenge. The person who never learnt how to cook or does not know the basic steps to keep body fit is surely going to suffer sooner or later. For example, I have seen students having very strong academic records suffering when they moved to new cities for higher study as they could not learn the basic survival skills of cooking or homemaking. Moreover, a study plan fully packed with too many subjective topics may make some of the students frustrated due to the lack of variety. Despite the benefits of non-academic study materials, still rigorous structure of those programs can demand high engagement from participants which can finally cause harm to them. As the primary subjects often demand both theoretical and practical excellence and evaluate those through exams, projects, presentations etc., we often see that non-essential procedures also demand the same. However, this can put extra pressure on the pupils. Giving up real-life skills for the sake of achieving higher subject matter expertise can lead to negative consequences. On the other hand, too many demanding syllabi of optional learning can make people reluctant to choose those. So we need to find a balance where participants will not feel that those courses are burdens in their day-to-day activities and also they can earn minimum dexterity for dealing with unforeseen real-life struggles.