Nowadays,many people choose to be self-employed, than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

It is true that many people these days prefer to have their own business, rather than to work for an employer. There are numerous reasons which encourage people to be self-employed, but no doubt there would be some drawbacks in this case. There are several factors which plays key role in attracting individuals toward running their own business. Firstly, there seems to be more income in being self employed compared to working for someone else. Secondly you have more freedom and you can schedule work hours and even work place according to your preference, whereas when being an employee you have no choice, except accepting all the situations. Finally lots of people find it difficult to obey someone else's demands or being limited by the rules of a company. However a society might face economic recession and consequently there might not be enough vacant positions for job seekers, so they have no alternative other than building up their own business. On the other hand, it is not usually easy for someone to be an entrepreneur, there are some challenges which makes it risky. For example if the person is not experienced enough or does not have adequate knowledge, he might experience failure and end up with bankruptcy. Besides, to be the founder of a business requires much efforts and diligence which everyone is not capable of that, Furthermore some unforeseen problems might happen in the society which leads to failure of the newbuilt businesses, as a few years age COVID-19 pandemic enforced many small businesses to close and caused a significant loss for the owners. In conclusion I can understand why being self employed appeals to many young people these days, but it is certain that it will bring some challenges and difficulties for the founders.