Many people around the world are choosing move to live in cities. What are the reasons that make people move to the city? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller towns and how should they do this?

The world has changed drastically in the last few decades, and people have started choosing to live in urban cities instead of rural settings. There are multiple reasons for this, as well as consequences which the government must address. This essay will examine the reasons for this phenomenon, whether the government should encourage people to move back to smaller towns, and what strategies they should implement. On the one hand, there are many reasons responsible for the migrant movement to big cities. First, the availability of employment is attractive. Large urban areas possess more employment factors, including factories, retail, public and private sectors. Second, the accessibility of better medical care and health clinics is important. There are more doctors and hospitals in large cities than in small towns. Finally, there are more educational facilities. For example, there are speciality schools as well as multiple choices for daycare and nurseries. This is paramount to families with younger children. On the other hand, without a doubt, the government should definitely encourage people to remain in their small towns. Furthermore, it will address and control many big city problems. First, the government can create better transportation between urban and rural centres. Implementing commuter trains makes living in small towns and working in the city possible. Next, creating a tax system, that allows rural dwellers a tax break could be a big incentive. For example, paying less in property tax might be an idea. Finally, creating an infrastructure, such as opening new malls and factories, will create local employment. In conclusion, it is easy to understand why people migrate to the city. Better opportunities in every facet, including work, health and eduction are available. However, this creates problems and therefore requires the government to implement reasons for people to remain in smaller rural communities.