Some teachers tend to reward students who achieve high academic results. Others, however, support and reward students that show the most improvement. Discuss both approaches and give your opinion.

Although, high performing students are rewarded through teachers for their academic success, other instructors are of the nature to recognize students showing drastic improvements. In my opinion, the boost in confidence to students when seen with significant changes by teachers has a far reaching consequences. On the one hand, it is thought by some that professors are right in encouraging only high academic performers. This can be mainly attributed to promoting studious children to excel even further. For instance, it is believed that by encouraging, a student can pass with flying colors even in the most competitive exams like SATs and GREs. Additionally, it is thought that, such recognition encourages other classmates to fair better in their schooling activities by forcing them to apply themselves to the best of their capabilities. On the other hand, some teachers tend to promote children only when they show positive noticeable differences. First and foremost, it is deemed necessary to uplift the interest of a child towards the subject at hand rather than forcing him through competition to strive for higher grades. Otherwise, in the longer run, this can pose detrimental repercussions leading to stress, animosity and lower self-esteem. As per the Stanford University’s research, for example, it is proven that upon recognizing students showing phenomenal improvements, whole class has a higher motivation to grow together. Moreover, it is believed that once a student has working knoweldge and knack for the subject, he can excel even better with just the hardwork and determination. In conclusion, though there are varying opinions, I am of the strong feeling that upon motivating and lauding children with noticeable changes, it can leave a constructive environment in class by promoting healthy competition reaping huge benefits to society in the longer run.