Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A majority of individuals assume that social media sites have a negative effect on people and society. In my opinion, I completely agree, and I will discuss my reasons. Firstly, social media is becoming more popular each day. Although it makes connecting with those who live abroad much easier, it also causes people to visit their loved ones less in person. For example, before social media applications like Facebook or Instagram became viral, people would gather together to celebrate parties or birthdays. Nowadays, they simply post a photo with a congratulatory message, and sometimes they just send a small message. This way of celebrating can have a negative impact over time on people's lives and the quality of their relationships. On the other hand, using social networks can turn relationships into conditional ones, based on likes and comments. Before the expansion of social websites, relationships used to be more genuine. In this day and age, people measure the degree of their intimacy based on the number of likes and comments under their photos. When social media wasn't as popular, if people had problems, they would try to solve them in person. But now, they often just block each other, sometimes without any explanation. In conclusion, it is claimed that social media has a negative impact on people's lives. I strongly believe that it can make relationships conditional and force people to have fewer in-person interactions.