Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Marriage is a special and important event in your life and some individuals believe that a couple should have a minimum age of 21 before they can legally marry each other. It is believed that it is right to postpone marriage to the age of 21 instead of the current 18 years of age. This essay will give 2 reasons why people should not commit to each other for the law until they are 21 years old. First of all, at the age of 21, people have more life experience and are more capable of making major decisions in life. It is said that the majority of 21-year-olds have lived on their own and are able to look after themselves compared to younger people who are dependent on their parents. For example, students who live alone need to be able to cook their own meals and know how to pay their own rent. This gives them more life experience. Secondly, the amount of people who have a full-time job has increased by the age of 21, and will therefore have more financial stability. If a person is economically independent, it has a better capability to look after themselves and their partner and therefore more able to maintain the relationship. For instance, financial independence will decrease the pressure on a partnership, and it will increase higher chances of success in the future. In conclusion, 21-year-olds have more life experience and are more likely to be economically independent. This will increase the odds of a successful young marriage. I personally believe that it is important to legalize marriage from the age of 21.