Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, instant food improves constantly and has gained in popularity. Some people suggest that this kind of food will completely supersede home-cooked food in the future. However, I disapprove of this opinion. It is undeniable that convenience food brings some merits to people ’s life. Firstly, it requires few preparations before enjoying it. For example, people usually consume just 10 seconds to heat a sandwich. Accordingly, it helps to save a lot of time and effort. Secondly, the food is usually prepared well with salt, pepper, and spices, so it tastes delicious. And this means consumers need buy no more seasonings to add in. Nevertheless, the negative aspects of prepared food and benefits of traditional food are more obvious. One of the demerits can be found in damaging health. For one, a big part of instant food is high in oil and salty, for instance, the instant noodles are fried and contain high salt in flavoring powder. As the consequence of continual consumption, people will be prone to chronic diseases such as obesity and high blood pressure. For another, most of these foods are added with many preservatives for longer shelf life, which means they are not fresh and low in nutrition. Hence, the consumers will be lack of nutritive element, and might even suffer from stomach disease. In addition, there are some advantages of traditional food and preparation methods that cannot be displaced. First of all, the special local flavor and cooking methods in different regions are precious tourism resource. This will help to create more job opportunities and increase government tax income. Furthermore, the cooking process is the main characteristic of this kind of food. All the food materials, sauce, and seasoning powder are carefully selected by the chefs, and cooked with their own skills and habits, which is impressive and makes consumers feel satisfied and warm. In comparison, most of the machine-processed food are common and “feelingless”. To summarize, convenience food is unable to replace traditional food and preparing method in the end. To avoid the bad influence, the government should encourage people to have more traditional meal and introduce stricter regulations to control the salt and preservative content of instant food.