Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful, while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In modern wealthy countries, there is a discussion about what is more important: functional convenience or the beauty of modern cities. In my opinion, there should be a balance between these two terms. British scientists discovered that an attractive environment has a positive influence on citizens' mental health. People are more eager to spend time outside with their friends and family if they have access to attractive infrastructure, such as parks, embankments, and cultural centers. Furthermore, attractive cities with cultural heritage and nice-looking architecture are more popular among tourists and digital nomads. The more people visit a city the better for its economy and tourist sphere. In terms of functionality, modern problems such as overcrowding and intensive speed of living demand innovative solutions. For example, providing a convenient and fast public transport network will help to reduce the amount of personal cars. That in turn will decrease traffic jams on the roads. Moreover, providing an inclusive environment for all people is a burning question. As an illustration, accessible infrastructure must include ramp access to the buildings and marked safe paths for visually impaired persons. In conclusion, I can say that I have strong beliefs that modern cities can be beautiful and functional. Saving the balance between these two terms is an interesting and ambitious task for modern civil engineers and architects.