Somw people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

There is an ongoing debate about gender in academic institutions. Some members feel that boys and girls should be educated separately for their benefit while others feel that it should be mixed. Which opinion is actually valid? In this essay, I will investigate both views in detail and provide which view I agree with at the end. To begin with, mixed classrooms facilitate respect towards each other. Because when children spend a long period of time, they learn to work together. This is greatly beneficial in teaching children important values such as cooperation, gender equality and teamwork. All of which are necessary skills in order to succeed in life. In addition to that, a mixed environment encourages the growth of friendly competition without any ego. In other words, it decreases their chance of developing any narcissistic attitude and helps to soften their sense of self-importance. Thus, there are various reasons for having academic settings with both genders. Nevertheless, there are plenty of benefits for schools to isolate boys from girls. First, they can be less distracted from any unnecessary romantic inkling and provide better focus during class. Second, they can thrive better provided that they are not constantly facing competition against the opposite sex. For example, I attended a girl's school while growing up and I did not learn to always view boys as a competitor but rather as future partners; be it business or love. If I had gone to a mixed school, then I am not entirely sure how much my personality and beliefs may have grown as a person. Hence, it is also possible to argue for schools to be non-mixed in nature. To conclude, although there are excellent points to both arguments due to the aforementioned discussion, I personally think that children should be mixed in a classroom. Even though I went to a girl's school myself, I still believe that interactions between the opposite sex are fundamental for developing a respectful mindset in life. In fact, the earlier this can be done, the better.