20.The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were suitable and livable for people in those times. What problems will these ancient towns cause today? And what should be done to deal with that?

With the advancement of society, a phenomenon has been paid more attention by the public, which is that many towns and cities in the world were constructed in previous centuries and were suitable for citizens in the past time. However, this fact causes various troubles in modern lives. And this essay will analyze the issues from the transportation and the infrastructure aspects, and list possible solutions. Firstly, an inconvenient transportation system is a problem that is caused by this situation. To be more specific, the size of the population in the past is smaller than now, leading to the traffic network which was suitable for the volume of passenger flow in the past being unable to carry out the current population size. In addition, modern vehicles cannot be driven on some parts of roads in the past, which brings some troubles in transportation. As a result, commuters living in these areas suffer from travel mode. Secondly, the fact that the infrastructure is out of date is another issue that should be considered. For example, electricity networks in these towns and cities are too old and cannot be renewed due to the design of the buildings. In this case, individuals may not be able to electrical equipment, such as microwave ovens and other high-power electrical appliances. Besides, some basic infrastructure cannot also be fixed owing to the protection of cultural relics. Therefore, some basic needs cannot be met. As for solutions, more efforts should be taken by governments. Primarily, new traffic networks can be built to replace old ones, such as metro systems and bus systems. Next, seeking selective modernization improvements without damaging the value of cultural relics to meet the needs of contemporary residents. Lastly, re-plan the urban layout and relocate the city centre from the old city to alleviate the transportation and other functions pressure on the old city area.