In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays, perseverance plays an essential role in our lives. In many cultures, parents often tell their children they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages of this message and the potential drawbacks it may have. On the positive side, children feeling like failures and stopping in the middle, don't let anything cease their effort to achieve their goals. For example, many people in my city stay depressed because they confront small problems in their careers; as a result, they kill their performance at a young age, such as 27 or 28. The main reason for these consequences is that authorities don't teach this category of people when they are kids that they can reach anything by working hard and not letting anything in their way stop them from moving on. On the negative side, kids can try dangerous things and think they can do them without any logic or imagining the result. As a result, they don't enjoy their childhood because they try to solve problems or do things above their age. For instance, many individuals wish to go back to their childhood only to play with friends and enjoy their time because this period is very vital to a person. In conclusion, telling children they can accomplish anything if they work hard is a message with both merits and drawbacks. On the one hand, it fosters determination and prevents adults from stagnating in their careers due to a lack of confidence. On the other hand, it can lead to unrealistic expectations and cause children to lose the joy of their youth by focusing too much on adult-level achievements. In my opinion, this message is beneficial only if it is balanced with the freedom for children to simply enjoy their childhood and play with their friends.