Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It can’t be denied that the rapid development of technology has given us many positive impacts. It has helped us in many possible ways. With the help of technology, it’s easier to mobilize products from one country to another country. In my perspective, I see it as a positive development. Some of my reasons include, firstly, the same products anywhere in the world let more people to experience new things and exchange each country’s culture and interest. For instance, when sushi went worldwide including to Indonesia, I, as an Indonesian, was able to taste one of the iconic foods from Japan even though I have never been to Japan. Likewise, Japanese were also able to taste rendang as one of the Indonesian iconic foods went worldwide. This allowed Indonesian and Japanese to exchange their country’s food culture. Secondly, it can also encourage more innovation and creativity. As an example, Korea is known for having the best skincare products and it has gained popularity in Indonesia. This encourages Indonesia to create local skincare products that are using the same ingredients. Eventually, many people complimented and gave good reviews about Indonesian skincare products which have a good quality and affordable prices. Lastly, it could also let people from all over the world communicate and relate to each other. For instance, Indomie, as one of the popular instant noodles in Indonesia, is available in America. However, the taste and price in both Indonesia and America is hugely different. Thus, this can be one of the ways to connect Indonesian and American by sharing their own experiences and stories.