People living in the 21st century have a better life than people who lived in previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Quality of living is one of the main focus in today's society. There is an opinion that people's current quality of living is better compared to people living in past centuries. I moderately agree with this notion and will give my rationale in this essay. Medical advancement has enabled humans to achieve wonders compareD to the past. In terms of development in the field of medicine, people now can receive preventions for diseases that in the past WERE deemed uncurable. Furthermore, with in-depth research in human physiology and psychology, people dealing with life-threatening health complications are receiving mental support and more advanced palliative care which was not an option in the 20th century. Therefore, quality of living is more ensured. However, with the rapid growth of technology, there are many problems that are more pronounced than in previous centuries including mental health problems. Growing in the conveniences of communication devices also means people are working more hours and are expected to do work quicker, which contributes to long-term anxiety and depression. Another problem that surfaces is human connections are decreasing because of the ease of using smartphones to contact someone. The human mind thrives on human connections which makes this issue harmful to the brain and leads to disorders like depression more common than in the past. Despite having more mental problems, people still have the support of not only their friends and family but also qualified professionals. Thus with careful consideration from the public, this situation can be curbed. In conclusion, compared to past centuries, people have better overall health but are more prone to having mental problems so it is generally consent upon that people's lives are better.