Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Progress in biology and medicine requires a lot of experiments, including experimentation on animals, which brings out a discussion in the public with two opposite attitudes regarding this topic. There are a lot of reasons for carrying out in vivo experiments, but also some of them could be avoided because of alternatives. Investigation of medicines and drugs is a long and demanding process due to the fact that in the end, the human will be a customer of this product, and researchers should be assured that a new-investigated drug has few side effects and does not have any harmful effects on the human body. The clinic stage of drug research demands the testing of a system influence of that agent, which is implemented by using laboratory animals. These results could be projected on a human organism with further analysis and implementation in clinical practice. However, laboratory animals are protected by laws of bioethics. This discipline legislates basic rules about the raising of lab animals and requirements for an experiment. Therefore, the risk of any harm to laboratory species goes down. Nevertheless, there are alternatives, but only in cosmetics, because this field of research does not require the investigation of side and system effects. For example, nowadays there is artificial skin, that consists of epithelium, which is identical analogy of human tissue. It is widely utilized by cosmetic factories in a lot of developed countries, which leads to a reduction of animals in experiments. To sum up, human health demands sacrifices, such as the utilisation of lab animals, which is an unreplaceable stage in some experiments in the pharmaceutical field. However, there are some alternatives, such as artificial skin, which can be used in a wide range of the testing of cosmetic products, avoiding in vivo experiments.