News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these picture are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

It is well said that “ Pictures speak louder than words”. In recent times, to dictate any news or story on the TV and in the newspaper, editors are using the pictorial mode of demonstration. Some people think that it is an effective way to make people aware of everything without using words, while others do not support this idea. I am totally in favour of this notion as pictures leave a long-lasting impact on the public’s mind and cater to their interests easily without wasting time on reading. The photographic presentation of any news makes readers remember it for a long time without paying attention to the long paragraphs. For instance, a survey was conducted by the W.H.O. in which they reported that participants who provided a graphical view of an incident, were able to remember the details of the incident for a long time as compared to those who read the whole news without any photo. Thus, pictures have an immense effect on the memorization of things by sending them into a long-term memory. Furthermore, when news is presented with the help of visual aids, it attracts individuals to focus on it. Visual presentation of any story gives an idea about the happening and saves time despite reading the whole passage in detail. For example, there was a picture in the newspaper of a drowning child during a flood in a country which brought the attention of the public instantly, and they sent financial aid to assist the suffering people in the flood. Moreover, it gives a quick idea to the illiterate viewers about the current ongoing issues without being uneducated. To sum up, photogenic illustrations of the news should be depicted in the newspapers and on the TV to make it interesting for the news watchers so that they can look over it without feeling boredom.