Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the fiercely competitive society in the world, the attention of the public has moved to subjects in schools. Some people think that history is one of the most vital school subjects while others argue that Science and Technology are more crucial than history. Nevertheless, considering cultures and the economic progress of society, I believe that those subjects are equally significant. On the one hand, history, indeed, is one of the most important subjects as it benefits the inheritance of cultures. To be more specific, the evolution of cultures is recorded in history, including languages, religions, arts, values and other factors. Only by understanding the relationship between the past and now, citizens can inherit and protect historical relics. Take Christmas as an example, when we have learned history, we know that this traditional festival is associated with a religion, instead of seeing it as a holiday. As a result, history cannot be ignored. On the other hand, the fact that economic development is driven by science and technology indicates that these subjects are also important. In other words, the products brought by science and technology, such as vehicles, equipment in assembly-line and other technological devices, can increase productivity. For example, compared with human beings, these artificial technologies can work with high accuracy and do heavy physical production activities which can be done by humans, which promotes production efficiency and productivity. Therefore, science and technology not only promote the advancement of the economy but also the development of society. In conclusion, culture can promote the advancement of the economy and the economy is beneficial to the spread of culture. So, I believe that each subject in schools is equally in the same position.