Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

The high price of some sophisticated medicines is often attributed as the root cause of some patients' deaths in third-world nations. Pharmaceutical companies are thus requested to sell their products at a discounted price in those parts of the world. I am convinced that only a reduction in prices from manufacturers is not going to solve the problem and in the following I will postulate my reasons. Disease-induced mortality rates have seen a significant downtrend over the last centuries in the developed countries whereas in the low per capita income regions this reduction is still staggering. This inspires the idea that treatment cost optimization can help the scenario and medicine is one of the top components in that budget. First of all, decreasing the selling price only from the company side will not stimulate the local governments to have a concrete sustainable healthcare plan for the long term. This will be just a temporary patch to deal with the scenario. Moreover, such action does not guarantee that the end sufferers will get proper benefit as from experience we know that in poor countries there are a lot of middle-men and syndicates who control the market. To worsen this, giving off in major products can lead to financial loss for the producers which in turn can pose a threat to their existence. Last but not least, there are affluent people in those countries who will benefit from low costs without adding any value to the primary proposition. On the other hand, we can not let poverty become the reason for demise where people do not have enough purchasing power. So some multi-dimensional endeavours are needed here concerting the efforts from government, non-government organizations and drug producers. Here manufacturers can absorb some hit in their profit margin, the government should also add some subsidies and ensure legislation to ensure correct people are getting benefits. For example, they can fix the maximum retail price and give those for free to poor people through NGOs. In a nutshell, one-sided effort for solving a global problem is never sustainable. While global pharmaceutical giants need to come forward to sacrifice their gain in an affordable way, national bodies should also put their effort at the table so that the right people get the benefit properly.