27.Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the process of globalization, living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language. However, this phenomenon can cause serious social problems and practical issues. Considering this topic from communicational skills and critical thinking ability, I do not agree with this opinion. Firstly, the fact that communication skills can be promoted indicates that this situation cannot bring issues. To be more specific, many vocabularies have second meanings, and it is hard to clearly remember the meanings of every word without any practice. Nevertheless, living in a nation where you have to speak a language which you are not familiar with can help people understand different semantics at a fast pace. In addition, speaking with foreigners frequently can also increase the fluency of a language. As a result, with the advancement of communication skills, there is no social problem. Secondly, living in a foreign country has a benefit as it can help develop critical thinking. In other words, languages are associated with cultures which represent different modes of thinking. Therefore, when learning a foreign language from books, a person can figure out how citizens from other cultural backgrounds think about problems. Besides, in normal lives, communicating with local people can also help human beings consider issues from a different view. Consequently, with daily practice, it is possible for a man or woman to develop the ability of critical thinking. In conclusion, although living in a country where it is unavoidable to speak a second language can lead to various troubles in the short term, with the increase in the ability to communicate and think critically, I am sure that it cannot be an issue to live in a foreign nation.