Some people say that drug companies have a responsibility to spend money on researching medicines that will help people in poorer countries. Others say the main responsibility of drug companies is to make money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people harbour a belief that drug firms have to help individuals in poorer countries through medicine development, whilst others hold the viewpoint that making money is more important. From my perspective, this issue deserves an in-depth discussion and a conclusion will be drawn. On the one hand, researching new medicines is one of the duties that manufacturers should take. Therefore, diverting partial resources to develop drugs for people in need is not difficult, not to mention that saving patients is morally right. Besides, it will result in long-term benefits when products are commonly used. For the sake of human well-being, the efforts could lead to significant medical progress when treatments will not be delayed due to financial restrictions. For these reasons, drug companies are obliged to aid underprivileged groups with their technical skills which will not only enhance the business but also elevate their reputation. On the other hand, earning money is the priority of all kinds of firms no matter in which industry. Corporations cannot survive without sufficient funding, let alone upgrade facilities or hire more staff. Considering sustainable management, corporate profits should be prioritized to maintain operations and even expand future development. Furthermore, employers are responsible for employees and investors so they have to make a comprehensive consideration for their expenditure. To sum up, despite the fact that drug corporations are primarily accountable for their growth, the indispensable role they play in medical improvement cannot be denied. It is vital to strike a balance between corporate enhancement and public welfare so as to create the greatest return for the investment.