Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. Why? What will be effects on society?​

It is true that these days, many countries just have a few students who want to study science subjects when they are college students. This can be attributed to several factors, which can lead to some negative consequences. There are various reasons why many students choose to study social subjects at university. One possible explanation is that science subjects often require much independent study which daunt for students who prefer a structured learning environment. Thus, these students spend a lot of time studying science subjects for which they have no passion and then they fall behind in their studies. These requirements of science subjects deterred students from choosing these subjects. Another reason worth mentioning is the lack of modern laboratory equipment to do research in their science fields. Many students do not have many opportunities to put theory into practice, so it is difficult to develop their careers. As a result, the lack of modern laboratory equipment deters students from choosing science subjects. There are many problems resulting from the shortage of the number of students who choose science subjects.The first issue is a need for more skilled professionals in technique and technology which hinder innovation and progress. Example for, healthcare in which technological advances are critical to providing better treatments stands in need of healthcare professionals but the number of doctors in the country is not enough. they recruit foreign doctors who communicate in foreign languages to meet patient needs so language barriers lead to misunderstanding each other. As a consequence, that affects poorer quality healthcare services and negatively affects people well-being. In conclusion, many reasons can be given to explain the decline in science students, and this can give rise to many issues.