Some students choose to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, there has been a popular trend among students that they are going to temporarily postpone advancing in their learning path to work or to take a break by travelling. In my opinion, this is not a wise decision and a major setback that they should really consider before doing it. On the one hand, taking a gap year can be appealing to students because it can give them a sense of freedom. For example, most students are constantly monitored by parents. Thus, having a gap year can offer them a chance to not only do whatever suits them without anyone complaining but also to prove that they are independent enough to deal with the challenges that life throws at them. On the other hand, despite the appealing benefits that I have mentioned above, this trend also has many demerits. First of all, being able to earn money early may make students think that higher education is unnecessary without knowing that the knowledge they gained in high school is by no means enough to guarantee a stable job in the future. This is because most companies nowadays usually require a range of certificates to make sure that the candidate is knowledgeable enough in order to perform well and benefit their company. Hence, a person who does not meet those requirements may have to accept a low-paid job or face unemployment. As a result, they may face financial difficulties in their lives and may become depressed that they are willing to commit fraudulent or illegal acts to survive. To sum up, although having a break before entering university can bring about some benefits, they are overshadowed by the drawbacks. Thus, students need to consider the advantages and disadvantages of this trend carefully before making their decisions.