In some countries, many people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recently, there has beenwas a rising trend of living by oneself in some countries. In my own perspective, living alone has the potential to bring about benefits on a personal level while there remains some impact on individual cost of living and state of negative emotion. On the one hand, it gives people time to focus on personal progress and themselves. From the personal scale, this style of living demands people to be entirely responsible as well as solely orient their life. It means that these people could cultivate a diverse range of skills (including: cooking meals, doing housework, repairing broken appliances) and are able to fully self-improve along with being more self-reliant. In addition, people who live alone will have more time to focus on what matters the most to them. Young people follow this trend, for example, go for holiday more often,explore their interests and abilities and get to know themselves better than individuals who do not. On the other hand, it seems to have detrimental effects on emotional status and cost of living. It is inevitable that people living alone will experience the feelings of isolation, sadness, bored due to the lack of emotional support as well as conversation between them with family members and their flatmates. This state of mind can worsen when they are faced with the fears or confronted with work pressure. Moreover, individuals who live by themselves are likely to deal with a higher cost of living. It is true that when it comes to making ends meet, a one-person household might pay entirely while a sharing apartment people tend to share the payments equally; in this sense, perhaps the trend towards living alone is negative. To conclude, the increasing number of people living by themselves may have both positive and negative consequences, particularly in the personal financial and mental aspects.