What are the advantages and disadvantages of watching television?

These days television is a part of the young generation’s lives, and they spend lots of time watching different programs that they like. Some people think that TV has more pros than cons, but other people believe that the disadvantages of television are more than the advantages. In this essay I am going to discuss the positive and negative points of watching TV programs and show that the downsides/pitfalls outweigh the benefits. Firstly, watching TV is a way to get the family members together. There are lots of shows, movies and so many other programs that everybody can enjoy alone or even with family and friends. For example, at dinner time, the whole family can enjoy their meal while watching a popular TV show. In addition, they may have the chance to talk about what they have watched and having fun together. Furthermore, TV can be used as an educational medium. That is, children can learn new topics and improve their knowledge with documentaries and educational programs. However, watching too much TV can be a waste of time. For instance, I suppose that young children who might have a lot of homework must have a time limit for following TV shows or cartoons. Also, the other disadvantage is the fact that TV can make people lazy and harm their health. This is the story of those couch potatoes whose lives are at risk. In addition, it can be a distraction for children and students and doesn’t let them concentrate on what they are forced to do. Furthermore, it is worth mentioning that TV programs and series may cause addiction in youngsters. To conclude, watching TV programs has its own drawbacks and benefits. People can use TV programs to learn and try to educate their children, but they need to make a specific time frame for this. Otherwise, children can be distracted and lazy about things that are needed to be done