In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

The developments in medical science have led to the creation of drugs that can help people defy the limitations of their physical bodies. Initially created with the intention to help seriously ill patients, these drugs have found common application in sports in the form of doping. Using these substances can result in serious problems in the user’s career and health. This practice should be prevented, which can be done through transparent legislation and awareness programs. Using doping can have serious negative implications for both health and career. Firstly, performance-enhancing drugs are largely banned at the professional level, because give unfair advantages to some athletes over others. If an athlete is found guilty of consuming them to enhance performance at a competition, for example, the sporting committee disqualifies this person and annuls their results. Even if an instance of using doping goes undetected, there is no guarantee that this will not be discovered during later checks, which may result in the doping user being stripped of their titles and honours. The consequences for an athlete’s career do not end here, as even if they are not found guilty of using banned substances, any association with this might lead to harsh public backlash. The negative implications of using doping in sports suggest the need to discourage this practice. One way in which this can be achieved is to maintain greater transparency in medical examination and punishment. Anti-doping agencies all over the world already try to prevent athletes from using illegal substances, but this is often jeopardised by widespread corruption and nepotism. A sporting triumph is a great way to improve a country’s international profile, so many political leaders misuse their power to exert immense pressure towards sporting associations, forcing them to facilitate doping use instead of stopping it. We need to reduce the influence that politics has on sports, which requires a collective effort of individual people. Together, we can wield just enough power to effect the much-needed changes. In conclusion, the continuing use of doping in sports is a worrying trend that may affect the careers and health of individual users. To address this issue, a greater level of transparency should be introduced to prevent political powers from ruining the integrity and fairness of sporting events. As for athletes themselves, they should be aware of all the negative implications that using doping might have on them.