Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior both and off field can have negative influences. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is an argument among people concerning which role professional athletes play in the youth’s life. It is considered by some individuals that sportsmen are an excellent example of a person for the growing generation, while others claim their behaviour may have an undesirable negative impact. On the one hand, the sports achievements of the professionals may be inspiring for the young people, pushing them to achieve their own aims. It might be said that if individuals aged 13-19 have a real model of stamina and perseverance, they will follow a certain behaviour, improving their skills and being on the way to their personal success. Also, it may show that the work done on fighting with challenges like injuries and tiredness leads to a positive result such as a win. Being incapable of coping with strain, professional athletes defeat themselves and go straight to the goal, which means people can move the mountains and there is nothing unfeasible. Conversely, the personality of seemingly dazzling athletes can turn out to be unacceptable for social norms. Sometimes, it reveals that one could have a series of cruel manifestations related to animals, relatives or others. In this way, the standard of sport and aspirations may have controversial behaviour and actions, which cannot become a positive role model for the young generation. In addition, there is another side of illustrious success in the face of some severe traumas which change the usual life completely, even not allowing back to sport. Thus, the enormous number of unexpected incidents, for example, to break the spine on ice as a figure skater, and overloading from training can ruin health starting from childhood. In conclusion, it seems that, while the sports achievements presented by society as the defining factor of a person, youth may face drawbacks of it.