Some people consider thinking about and planning for the future to be a waste of time. They argue that people should simply live in the moment. Do you agree or disagree?

Time is a valuable gift. In order to enjoy it to the fullest many argue to live in the present and not plan ahead while, others argue otherwise including me. This essay will explain the reasons why I strongly disagree with this statement and believe in future planning instead. Firstly, the primary reason why I disagree is because the planning helps to prepare better. Preparations can be done for a number of things such as acquiring new skills, languages and family among other things. For example, if someone wants to relocate to another country for their dream job, then such preparation can greatly aid in securing it before their visa runs out. In contrast, a person without a plan is more likely to panic and fail at their mission. As a result, planning ahead helps immensely, especially for those who are competing against the clock with others. Moreover, the fact that a budget can be established with planning is another reason why I disagree. Dreams come at a cost. Usually, everyone is so busy following their dreams that they actually forget to do any financial calculations for them. Take an immigrant from a developing country for illustration, they do not consider the living costs of the developed country that they are migrating to. Subsequently, they suffer a lot once they arrive and realise that they are not capable of paying for it. Therefore, planning the budget ahead is supremely beneficial for future events; rather, it is better for their mental health. To conclude, there are various reasons why I do not agree with the claim that making plans for the future is unnecessary in light of the aforementioned discussion. Although some may think it is a waste of time, I believe it is the best way to use time before it becomes too late.