In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Back in the old ages farmers usually took care of their crops and farmland by hand or with the help of the animals. However, today's technology has improved so much that the people do not even need a soil to plant the produce. Sadly, technology’s advances have not improved the world hunger problem. In this essay I will have a deeper look into this issue and provide a possible solution for it. I firmly believe that the reason for people still having nothing to eat is lack of resources and time. Majority of countries who suffer from hunger run into a problem, for example, lack of water. In some countries in Africa people need to walk miles just to get 10 liters of water and walking back and forth multiple times can be very draining and time consuming. Most citizens in these countries not only have to be walking for water but also need time to take care of the family and work. Therefore, it is hard for them to maintain a farm, family and work at the same time. The resolution for this matter could be genetically engineered plants. Genetically engineered plants are produced, which were genetically modified while being in the seed form. Scientists have ways of modifying the plants to be more resistant to heat, increase the amount of roots to reach the water further down or produce more fruits. I feel that these types of plants should be provided to affected countries, which could help the humans to save time getting water and be more rewarding after the plants have produced fruits. In conclusion, world hunger is still a big issue because of lack of water and time in the suffering counties. But there is always a possible solution to these matters. In this case, genetically engineered plants can help to overcome the issue of water by being more resistant to heat and growing longer roots. Furthermore, they can be modified in a way to produce more fruit, which can als come in handy.