TOPIC: DO YOU THINK EXAMS ARE A GOOD WAY TO TEST STUDENTS?

Nowadays, testing is an effective method of evaluating students ' abilities, while others believe it will put a lot of pressure on the pupils. Everything has side effects, and this essay will discuss both of these points of view and argue in favor of the latter. On the one hand, the process of gaining knowledge is arduous. After that, we need a tool to prove that the learner understands or checks the abilities to apply these to their jobs. In addition, examinations are meant to create a sense of responsibility among those learners to remember concepts and present them in the most valuable form. It is crucial in enhancing the child's overall personality, memory, and revision skills. One example that comes to mind is a university requiring admissions tests to help them distinguish the top applicants, particularly for competitive courses such as law, mathematics, medicine, etc. Besides, international students must have an international English certificate before entering school. On the other hand, exams have been associated with stress and competition. Many students dread the daily trip to school because of it. The pupils should be joyful about learning to be present in the classroom. Society needs to place less emphasis on the importance of academic qualifications and a person's learning abilities. Most of them forget all the knowledge they have learned after the exams and only follow up if future exams require it. For instance, the Dutch education system only gives a little homework, especially not in the early years. In conclusion, having looked at this topic in detail, although it is true that exams can enhance students ' critical thinking abilities, educational institutions should decrease the frequency of assessments. The main reason is that it helps learners relieve their stress and learning experience.