some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, smartphones have become extremely advanced where several tasks can be performed. Along with this progress, there comes a drawback of addiction to it, which is primarily affecting children day by day. From my perspective, addiction to mobile phones instead of reading will ruin their future career. Smartphones cover a wide range of activities including entertainment, study, communication, and so on. As a result of this versatile characteristic, youngsters have been attracted to it even more in recent times. Besides all these activities, children can make more friends through the Internet and can communicate with their friends. For instance, a child in my neighborhood spends time on Facebook chatting with his friends. Furthermore, youngsters involve themselves in mobile games in such a manner that they forget about timing and other work to do. However, I see more benefits than drawbacks of smartphones. A child can gain a lot of knowledge and skills by using mobile through the internet which is denoted as an ocean of education. Consequently, this will boost the IQ level of kids, they can get help in completing their tasks too. For instance, children of the Corona batch got education through smartphones. Moreover, numerous learning materials can be found on video-sharing platforms like YouTube. To conclude, multiple task performance of mobile phones helps children in different sectors whereas the use of it should be limited. I think children should be under their parents’ supervision while using phones, so they will not get distracted from learning.