n a number of countries , some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Public transport is an invaluable hot topic between many nations in the contemporary world. There is a conflict between people whether to allocate budget for speedy trains and new railway paths or to provide money to improve current methods of public transportation. In this essay I will look into both views regarding their pros and cons to reason out the important aspect of enhancement of existing transport methods. Firstly, if governments plan to improve the facilities of present travelling methods used by people, it will cost reasonably less amount of money compared to initiation of fast trains. Eventhough new railways can reduce the travel time, countries should consider the impact of these on their tight budgets. Ongoing global economic crisis and inflation has huge impact on this scenario. As an example many nations struggle to keep up their existing transport methods without interruption rather than uplifting those. Due to this economic impact, most appropriate strategy to improve public transport is provide substantial amount of money to existing methods. Secondly, environmental destruction will be dramatically high if new railways are established. Considerable amount of forests as well as wild animals and water resources are destroyed by these fast trains. Even if current transport methods are developed, that will release pollutants to nature but in less capacity compared to previous strategy. The newest railway extend to northern province in Sri Lanka has taken many lives of elephants is the most suitable example for this. Since biodiversity and ecology is utmost important in modern world, enhancement of current transport methods seem to comprehensive. In conclusion, due to the economic and environmental impact, allocation of money to uplift existing transport modes is much critical than introduction of novel railway paths.