The restoration of old buildings in major city throughout the world would involve enormous expenditure. This money would bring more benefits if it was used to provide new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many buildings around the world are aging and as they age, the more costly it gets to keep these structures standing. Thus, according to some resources, the alternative of constructing new houses and other infrastructure lines would be a better investment. It is my firm belief that there are certain buildings that must be restored regardless of huge maintenance expenses due to their strategic and historic value, however, instead of maintaining the other old buildings without any value, new construction projects can be executed. To begin with, there are two major reasons that make financial sense to restore certain old buildings. There are many ancient buildings that bear historical and architectural importance. Because of that these buildings are protected and the governments incur massive amounts of expenses to maintain them. In addition to that some of those buildings have the capability to amortize their expenses by being a hotspot for touristic activities. Besides the cultural and architectural importance of buildings, some outdated buildings are located at the center locations in major cities, thus demolishing and building a new one is not possible due to many obvious reasons. On the other hand, sometimes restoration of old buildings is not the silver bullet in solving the aging infrastructure problem. Generally, the maintenance process required to restore the old structure is tedious and financially burdensome, therefore, demolishing them is a pragmatic solution. For instance, as the restoration of a building is utterly expensive, the money can be spent on building new houses as well as contributing to other infrastructure like roads and railways. To sum up, although maintaining old buildings is as expensive as building a new one, some monumental structures like the Eiffel Tower and the Red Bridge must be restored despite the huge refurbishment bills because they have immense historical value as they are now representing attributes of the countries.