It is crucial for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Few people believe that parks are crucial places for relaxing, while others argue that gardens and squares are making the land useless and should be used for more practical purposes. In my opinion, parks and squares are important for various reasons in cities and towns, despite the voices against this issue. On one hand, open spaces and gardens in city centres are places where people commence for meetings and leisure activities. In addition to that, children and their parents visit parks to relax after a busy daily routine. Moreover, it is a place for recreation for the elderly. In fact, local gardens in city centres are considered to be the heart of city. In fact, the creation of these parks are usually associated with city's history. For example, tourists all around the world visit various European countries to visit their historical parks and gardens. Thus, it is imperative to preserve it for the future generation. Howover,cities are facing over crowded nowadays and there is not enough infrastructure to accomodate the population. Authorities need more open spaces in order to develop public and commercial spaces. New transportation schemes are constructed that requires squares and parks to construct stations and wider lanes. For example, the London city was developed 200 hundred years ago and roads were constructed to be narrow and small, designated for carts, not for cars and buses. So, London authorities decided to convert historical gardens and spaces into car parks and highways. However, this has been highly criticised by civilians and local poeple. In conclusion, destroying historical places like parks and open spaces to create modern infrastructure is not the solution for urban scity scarcity. Therefore, it is imperative for the public and authorities to preserve these places for the upcoming years.