In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many societies, the amount of stress experienced by people is increasing, which affects the quality of life that society has. This essay will discuss possible reasons for this matter and introduce measures to fight the problem. Many countries have not introduced any regulations relating to working hours, therefore, people don't experience work-life balance, which causes a lot of pressure and as a result, increases the load of stress. It has become harder to pursue hobbies, have gatherings with friends, and have time to relax when hours spent at work are long. Another reason for such pressure is the productivity culture, that many developed countries are experiencing lately. Due to the high exposure of social media, people have created an idea of being worthy only by constantly doing something beneficial. Having this thought on a daily basis causes comparison with others and as a result, leads to stress. There are a few solutions to consider to tackle this problem. First of all, it comes to the government whose responsibility is to regulate the working hours. By setting clear laws, it is possible to enable the population to have time for themselves, which will crucially increase their satisfaction with life. In addition, raising awareness of the negative effects of social media and encouraging the public to spend less amount of time online, would result in less comparison between individuals and, therefore, decrease the amount of stress. To conclude, stress is caused by various different reasons, most significantly, by the lack of work-life balance. By introducing strict laws and guidelines related to working hours as well as raising awareness about the negative sides of social media it is possible to tackle the problem.