Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Animals are commonly used in testing different products such as medicine before trying them on people. However, there are different opinions regarding the ethics and acceptance of such matters. I strongly believe, that such experimentation can be justified to an extent when its amounts are reduced and alternative methods are introduced. There have been a lot of conversations about animal rights, which have increased the awareness of cruelty of animal testing. I do agree, that it is not acceptable at any rate to purposefully harm animals and cause them stress. However, I do believe that testing strong and dangerous pharmaceuticals first on animals in small amounts, can lead to new discoveries and reduce the risk of death among people, who suffer from HIV or cancer, since the structure of skin or genes is similar to acknowledging potential dangers. Nevertheless, the extensive amounts of animals used in laboratories are not acceptable. At the moment, laws protecting animal rights do not cover all the species used in experimentation such as birds and rats, therefore, to limit the huge amount of creatures used and justify such testing it is crucial to set strict guidelines. Alternative methods should be widely introduced as well. In some countries, the usage of artificial skin has shown success in testing new products. Moreover, reducing the sizes of medicine put in an animal or using painkillers can reduce the pain and stress felt by the animals. Consequently, in my opinion, by implementing all these changes, animal testing can be justified. To conclude, animal rights are cruelly broken by the extensive amount of experimentation done, however, by changing the law and introducing alternative methods, such procedure can be justified in the case when strong medicine is not possible to test straight on people without causing danger of death.