Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that expenditures on products are more presenting the effect of commercials than what people actually have a need for. To some extent, I agree that advertising could tempt someone to buy unnecessary goods, but I mostly support the idea that people still prioritise their requirements while shopping. Nowadays, many people are under the permanent influence of advertising which leads to improper shopping. Firstly, with the widespread media and huge budgets investing in advertisements, we humans are exposed to a constant introduction of new products which are quite interesting. From TV commercials, radios and billboards to apps on our personal phones, advertisements somehow encourage us to buy something for a temporary pleasure, not a real need. Moreover, companies exert whatever helps them in this competitive consumerism world like using psychologistic tricks or hiring a famous actor and they therefore easily direct our decision. However, I believe that despite advertising attempts to attract customers, people are still aware of what they need. Firstly, in this current world, the price of products especially those that are highly advertised, are rapidly increasing and people can hardly afford their crucial needs let alone extra goods. Secondly, advertising methods are getting old-fashioned and some ridiculous tricks about making people feel they need something that they actually did not are becoming impractical. For example, we all now know that TV commercials are not fully trustworthy and if they present themselves as qualified producers we should not believe them. In conclusion, Although the power of advertising affects everyone's purchases, society is still determining what they want to consume regardless of commercials.