When new cities are planed it is important to build more public parks and sports facilities than shopping malls. Do you agree or disagree

Urban planning is the process of making decisions about cities and its components and designing the outline of cities. During the process, it is essential to construct more public spaces like parks and gymnasiums, rather than shopping centers. I strongly agree with this idea, because of two reasons. First, shopping malls are best built by private sector, and second, public amenities serve a greater number of people compared to shopping centers. Economically concerned, shopping complexes are profit-making agencies, hence they shall be governed by private sector. A non-governmental entity, in order to gain higher revenue, invest more and more on making its mall better. Governments and muncipalities around the world are neither repsonsible, nor financially obliged, to build such facilities. People or private organizations construct malls and shop-owners or brands gather to either buy a unit or rent one. This process is not a governmental concern; except they shall maintain laws governing the aforementioned entities. In Tehran, For instance, 2010's was the decade that many malls emerged, and not a single one was built by the government. On the other hand, parks and sport complexes are for public good; a wider audience versus those who go to shopping centers. If it was the case that the city planners had to decide to choose public spaces or shopping malls, the number of people who use these two options is the key. In addition, public spaces serve as a public good and is beneficial for the mental and physical health of the citizens. Urban specialists have to dedicate certain spaces for people to gather, workout, and enjoy a collective quality time. In fact, every thoughtful urban planning process is an example. Take Isfahan, a city located within the Iranian central dessert. A single river has turned into a city with large organic green spaces. In conclusion, the role of urban designers is to make sure they build public parks and sport facilities, and let the private sector take care of shopping malls. Simply, public sector is not responsible for shopping centers, but rather is responsible for public health and well-being.